Figure Skaters Online

Home of Skating Champions

World Team Trophy

Team USA announced for World Team Trophy

Release courtesy of U.S. Figure Skating

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — U.S. Figure Skating announced today the eight athletes chosen to represent the United States at the inaugural ISU World Team Trophy competition, which will take place April 16-19 at the Yoyogi National Stadium in Tokyo, Japan. They include World champion Evan Lysacek, World ice dancing silver medalists Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto, and U.S. champion Jeremy Abbott.

The U.S. team also includes two-time U.S. silver medalist Rachael Flatt, U.S. bronze medalist Caroline Zhang and U.S. pairs silver medalists Caydee Denney and Jeremy Barrett.

The six countries participating in the ISU World Team Trophy are the United States, Canada, Japan, Russia, France and China. Each team consists of two ladies, two men, one pairs team and one ice dancing team. All ladies, men’s and pairs competitors will skate a short program and a free skate, and all dance teams will perform an original dance and a free dance. Through an event-specific scoring system, the team earning the highest number of aggregate points will be the winner.


U.S. Figure Skating is the national governing body for the sport of figure skating in the United States as recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the International Skating Union. U.S. Figure Skating is comprised of more than 763 member clubs and Basic Skills Programs representing approximately 179,000 members. U.S. Figure Skating is charged with the development of the sport on all levels within the United States including athletes, officials, sanctioning of events and exhibitions, and establishing the rules and guidelines by which the sport is governed.