Figure Skaters Online

Home of Skating Champions

U.S. Championships

Meet the Novices: Seventy athletes competing

Seventy athletes have qualified to compete in the novice events at the 2011 U.S. Championships, January 22-30, in Greensboro, N.C. Twelve ladies, men and ice dance teams will skate while 11 pairs teams will also compete for gold, silver, bronze and pewter medals.

The short programs and compulsory dances are January 23 and the free skates and free dances are January 24. On January 23, the compulsory dances and the ladies short program are from 10 a.m. to 2:10 p.m. while the men and pairs compete from 2:30-5:50. The free dance and ladies free skate are January 24 from 10:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. The men and pairs follow from 3:45-7:40.

Jordan Bauth, Ana Draovitch, Mia Eisenhandler and Viviana Mathis are the ladies who qualified from the Eastern Sectional. Representing the Midwestern Sectional are Mariah Bell, Barbie Long, Hannah Miller and Jessica Pfund. Skaters from the Pacific Coast are Katia Gorodetsky, Amanda Hofmann, Ysabel Tran and Alana Walker.

For the men’s competition, Alexander Bjelde, Marcus Mimidis, Andrew Nagode and Jack Newberry advanced out of the Eastern Sectional. Representing the Midwestern Sectional are Cale Ambroz, Lukas Kaugars, Jordan Moeller and Troy Tomasello. Men competing out of the Pacific Coast are Nathan Chen, the defending U.S. Champion in novice men’s, Spencer Howe, Nix Phengsy and Cordero Zuckerman.

Representing the Eastern Sectional in pairs are Kay Bergdolt and Miles Addison, Audrey Goldberg and Joseph Dolkiewicz, Alexandria Shaughnessy and James Morgan and Allison Smith and Craig Segall. Teams advancing from the Midwestern Sectional are Caitlin Fields and Jason Pacini, Stefanie Griffin and Jordan Griffin, and Brianna de la Mora and Taylor Wilson. From the Pacific Coast Sectional, Madeline Aaron and Max Settlage, Chelsea Liu and Devin Perini, AnnaMarie Pearce and Craig Norris, and Janelle Unger and Robert Przepioski qualified.

In ice dance, competing out of the Eastern Sectional are Morgan Grant and Luke Skala, Cassandra Jeandell and Damian Dodge, Rachel Parsons and Michael Parsons, and Elliana Pogrebinsky and Ross Gudis. Representing the Midwestern Sectional are Kaitlin Hawayek and Michael Bramante, Jessica Mancini and Tyler Brooks, Holly Moore and Daniel Klaber, and Brittany Schmucker and Adam Munday. Teams advancing from the Pacific Coast Sectional are Grace Deissroth and Brett Mueller, Jessica DeMaria and Dean Miller, Roxette Howe and Ryan Farmer, and Bryna Oi and Mark Jahnke.

Tickets for the novice events start at $10. For ticket information, visit

Please note: May not reflect withdraws and substitutions made after January 15, 2011


Figure Skaters Online strives to be an accurate source of information related to the sport of figure skating. To report an error, please e-mail the news editor. Include the article date and title in your e-mail.