Figure Skaters Online

Home of Skating Champions

U.S. Championships

Meet the Juniors: Seventy seven athletes competing

Seventy seven athletes have qualified to compete in the junior events at the 2011 U.S. Championships, January 22-30, in Greensboro, N.C. Thirteen men, pairs teams and ice dance teams will skate while 12 ladies will also compete for gold, silver, bronze and pewter medals.

The men’s short program, 7:30-9:20 p.m. on January 23, kicks off the junior competitions. The ladies short program is from 8:45-10:15 p.m. January 24. The short dance (11 a.m. to 12:55 p.m.) and the men’s free skate (8:30-10:50 p.m.) are January 25. On January 26, the pairs short program and free dance are from 11 a.m. to 3:35 p.m. with the ladies free skate from 8:30-10:40 p.m. On January 28, the junior competitions conclude with the pairs free skate from 11 a.m. to 1:25 p.m.

Haley Dunne, Elise Eng, Nicole Rajic and Allison Timle are the ladies competing from the Eastern Sectional. Skating from the Midwestern Sectional are Ashley Cain, McKinzie Daniels, Lauren Dinh and Nina Jiang. The Pacific Coast Sectional is represented by Polina Edmunds, Courtney Hicks, Katarina Kulgeyko and Mary Beth Marley.

In the men’s competition, advancing from the Eastern Sectional are Alexander Aiken, Harrison Choate, Emmanuel Savary and Alexander Zahradnicek. Steven Evans, Ryan Hartley, Timothy Koleto and T.J. Yang are competing out of the Midwestern Sectional while Will Michael, Shotaro Omori, David Wang and Philip Warren advance from the Pacific Coast Sectionals.

Max Aaron received a bye to the U.S. Championships.

Kloe Chanel Bautista and Tyler Harris, Haven Denney and Daniel Raad, Kylie Duarte and Colin Grafton, and Morgan Sowa and David Leenen are the pairs who advanced from the Eastern Sectional. From the Midwestern Sectional, Cassie Andrews and Timothy LeDuc, Olivia Oltmanns and Joshua Santillan, and Andrea Poapst and Christopher Knierim are competing. Representing the Pacific Coast Sectional are Jessica Noelle Calalang and Zack Sidhu, Brynn Carman and A.J. Reiss, Mandy Garza and Brandon Frazier, and Christina Guterres and Justin Schumann.

Ashley Cain and Joshua Reagan received a bye to the U.S. Championships.

Ice dancers competing out of the Eastern Sectional are Lauri Bonacorsi and Travis Mager, Anastasia Cannuscio and Colin McManus, Jenna Dzierzanowski and Vinny Dispenza, and Danielle Gamelin. Alexander Gamelin. Teams advancing from the Midwestern Sectional are Alexandra Aldridge and Daniel Eaton, Heather Buckner and Nicholas Taylor, Carina Glastris and Kevin Allison and Anastasia Olson and Jordan Cowan. From the Pacific Coast Sectional, Madeline Heritage and Nathaniel Fast Lorraine, McNamara and Quinn Carpenter, Natalie Wojton and Michael Soyfer, Joylyn Yang and Jean-Luc Baker are skating.

Tickets for the novice events start at $10.

For ticket information, visit

Please note: May not reflect withdraws and substitutions made after January 15, 2011


Figure Skaters Online strives to be an accurate source of information related to the sport of figure skating. To report an error, please e-mail the news editor. Include the article date and title in your e-mail.