Figure Skaters Online

Home of Skating Champions

Exhibitions and ShowsNews

Flatt, Weir headline 2011 Skate for Hope benefit

Press release

Columbus, OHIO — Skate for Hope, the Columbus, Ohio-based premier figure skating event that benefits breast cancer research and awareness, today announced the cast of the show’s eighth-anniversary production, scheduled for 5 p.m., Saturday, June 18, 2011, at Nationwide Arena.

The not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) charitable organization donates proceeds to the Stephanie Spielman Fund for Breast Cancer Research at The James Cancer Center and Solove Research Institute at The Ohio State University, as well as the Vera Bradley Foundation for Breast Cancer in Ft. Wayne, IN.  Since its founding in 2004, Skate for Hope has raised over $293,000 for breast cancer research.

Skate for Hope is the creation of its founder and president, 2010 Jefferson Award finalist Carolyn Bongirno.  An adult amateur figure skater, Bongirno created Skate for Hope after her own successful battle with breast cancer at the age of 33.  “Year after year, Skate for Hope continues to grow artistically while positively impacting its community.   Because of the generosity of JEGS, The Chiller Ice Rinks and the Nationwide Arena, over 100 Central Ohio skaters join the cast each year to perform with US National Champion and Olympic figure skaters.”

Skate for Hope features a unique combination of elite skating stars, including several 2010 winter Olympians, and 100 amateur skaters from the central Ohio area.  All local participants earn their spot in the cast raise by raising funds for breast cancer research.

Headliners of the 2011 production of Skate for Hope include:

Sarah Hughes
Olympic Gold Medalist as Guest Emcee

Johnny Weir
2006, 2010 Olympian & Three Time National Champion

Emily Hughes
2006 Olympian

Rachael Flatt
2010 Olympian & US National Champion

Ryan Bradley
US National Silver Medalist & World Team Member

Alexe Gilles
US National & International Competitor

Joshua Farris
US Juvenile, Intermediate & Novice National Champion

Caitlin Yankowskas & John Coughlin
US National & International Competitors

Marcy Hinzmann Harris & Lee Harris
2006 Olympian & US 2002 Jr. National Champion

AND more stars to be announced in late January!
Tickets are on sale on-line and at all Ticket Master locations.  Lower bowl seats begin at just $15.00.  Tickets are available at the door and the Nationwide Arena box office.  Please visit for more information.