Figure Skaters Online

Home of Skating Champions


Flatt named Colorado Sportswoman of the Year

Rachael Flatt will receive a 2011 Sportswoman of the Year award from Sportswomen of Colorado, Inc. next month during the 37th Annual Awards Banquet at the Marriott Tech Center in Denver, Colo. The banquet, which is Sunday, March 13, will also feature the induction of triathlete Judyann Cummings, paratriathlete Tricia Downing and swimmer Missy Franklin into the Sportswomen Hall of Fame.

She is being honored for her performances in 2010. At the 2010 U.S. Championships in Spokane, Wash., Flatt became the first U.S. lady to break 200 points, winning the gold medal behind a personal best short program and free skate. The national title earned her a spot on the 2010 U.S. Olympic team. She finished seventh at her first Games and was ninth at the World Championships.

On the Grand Prix circuit, Flatt won back-to-back silver medals at NHK Trophy in Japan and Skate America in Portland, Ore. The medals qualified her for her first Grand Prix Final, where she closed out the year with a sixth place showing.

Other athletes receiving a Sportswoman of the Year award include cyclist Mara Abbott of Boulder, modern pentathlete Margaux Isaksen of Colorado Springs and Paralympic skier Alana Nichols of Winter Park. Special awards will also be given in the categories of all-around, coach of the year, comeback, contribution, courage, dedication, inspiration, milestone and spirit. The most promising and pioneer awards will also be given.

For more information, visit


Photo courtesy of Leah Adams

Figure Skaters Online strives to be an accurate source of information related to the sport of figure skating. To report an error, please e-mail the news editor. Include the article date and title in your e-mail.